A Journey of 365 Days

upwithmarriage 365

Chris over at Forgiven Wife invited me to share a little deeper regarding a comment in which I had spoken of a 365 Day Journey. Today’s post is that amplification. In her email she wrote something I want to share: The process of change can seem an insurmountable hurdle […]”

This is where I want to jump off from to start.

Indeed it was insurmountable. Although I knew what God had showed me to do, I had no idea how He was going to change me or what I was going to be like at the end of the journey; this was flying blind for sure. I only knew for sure where I was: It was time for something to change. Our marriage had been ravaged; beaten up and bleeding… dying; a barely recognizable corpse. A sorry sight for representation of Christ and His church. Anais Nin captured my day when she wrote, “And the day came when the risk to remain tight in a bud was more painful than the risk it took to blossom.”

 

To continue reading click to The Forgiven Wife.

 

robyn Sig

8 comments

    1. Thanks Chris. As you know, by sharing our successes that come from struggles we are able to encourage those sisters that are feeling trapped and perhaps think their marriages are doomed. May they be blessed by the light of God’s grace and power.

  1. That’s an excellent teaching Robyn and the key to pursuing a proper biblical marriage. The “problem” with your message is it doesn’t tickle ears and speaks of hard, committed work. For so many, they think that the marriage vows are a magic incantation and the speaking of them insures God’s continuous blessing and that all will go perfectly from that point.forward and then “life” happens. One flesh becomes two minds that are at war with the One mind and His plan.

    This may sound hyperbolic, but there is a sacred moment at the wedding reception between the husband and wife during which they acknowledge that they have a responsibility to provide for each other. He for her; she for him. In their turns, one provides as the other accepts that provision and acknowledges the other as their source of provision. That provision they are offering to each other comes to them from one common source of provision.

    They are the church, and Christ is the cake. It pains me to see either or both disregard or misunderstand the sacred solemnity of that moment by the mashing of cake in faces. Many find it “cute” or “playful,” and many at the reception find it amusing. I find it disturbing, particularly when done to the bride. I worry that one or both don’t “get it” and that there are difficult times ahead in short order. We will all have those times, but they are better weathered when they are approached as a unified team. It is particularly discouraging when those hard times are the result of the attitudes and actions of a team member. To me, it started with the cake mashing which symbolized a lack of deep awareness of Christ’s place in their lives and marriage. Even if they don’t see the symbolism I do with the cake cutting and sharing, it concerns me that they are showing disregard for the dignity of the other at such a critical time.

    That ultimate awareness is what made the difference in turning your marriage around. Through Christ, you sought the will and perfect way of the Father for you and your marriage, while not seeking to empress God’s will upon Darrell. Darrell had to find his own way and relationship with Christ. Through that relationship, he found his proper relationship with you. Good job to both of you.

    1. Thanks Dan!

      I too find deep symbolism within the wedding cake. We weren’t one of the couples that did the mashing bit to each other but looking back on that time I had no idea what exactly marriage meant or how much it was going to change me.

  2. “……but there is a sacred moment at the wedding reception between the husband and wife during which they acknowledge that they have a responsibility to provide for each other. He for her; she for him. In their turns, one provides as the other accepts that provision and acknowledges the other as their source of provision. That provision they are offering to each other comes to them from one common source of provision.”

    It is too bad that these tradititions are not more thoroughly explaned to couples before they are wed. I never knew of the sacred symbolism behind this moment, fortunately the cake face smashing had not caught on when my bride and I were wed.
    I wonder how many today know why the bride wears white ?

  3. Well untill I researched it just today I thought that’s what it symbolized. I was wrong. The veil the bride wears is a symbol of her virginity. Her wearing white is a symbol of celebration. As usual I think I know what I’m talking about but I dont really know. I dont even remember where I was going with this line of thought now. Sorry for the off track excursion.

    1. “As usual I think I know what I’m talking about but I dont really know.” I think we all arrive at this place from time to time. No harm done!!

Leave a Reply

