Neglect

DRIFT

Neglect always leads to drifting.

There is no area of life where neglect is beneficial. Life – people – relationship: all require work. We were not built for static. Attending to – caring for – doing: We were built for activity.

PHYSICAL

  • Neglect to work out; your heart and muscles drift into weakness and atrophy
  • Neglect to eat right and your body drifts into poor health

MATERIAL 

  • Neglect your work you get passed over for promotions
  • Neglect to pay your mobile fee and your phone becomes useless

EMOTIONAL/MENTAL

  • Neglect to manage your emotions and your filters weaken
  • Neglect to keep your mind sharp and cognitive ability becomes dull

 Neglect = Drift = Dullness

Since all this is true, we ought to pay much closer attention than ever to the truths that we have heard, lest in any way we drift past [them] and slip away. –Heb 2:1

For this nation’s heart has grown gross (fat and dull), and their ears heavy and difficult of hearing, and their eyes they have tightly closed, lest they see and perceive with their eyes, and hear and comprehend the sense with their ears, and grasp and understand with their heart, and turn and I should heal them. -Matt 13:15

Fat & Dull = Lazy listeners ‘ask for it’

We all have areas in which we have become lazy listeners that make us neglectful:  In what ways are you neglecting your marriage?

A phrase you hear repeatedly from your spouse can indicate an area of dullness. You can listen to God through your spouse or you can let regression continue. But God always corrects one way or another. Just like you as a parent wouldn’t allow one sibling to constantly take advantage the other; He won’t allow His chosen to become a family of spoiled brats that hurt each other through the inaction of neglect.

You either act through listening and hearing or God will give you the help you are begging for. (Heb 10:31)

 BEWARE OF THE BAIT

Resist the temptation to ask, “In what ways is my spouse neglecting our marriage.” God doesn’t ask us to account for each other. I won’t be held accountable for the actions and behaviours of my husband; only my own as a wife. (2 Cor 5:10)

Neglect is a tool of Satan’s that is intentionally deceptive so it can be quietly destructive.  Drifting is just a slower path than directly sinking; the destination is the same:  divorce – death of the marriage. In order to keep your marriage afloat and on course it must be driven, steered, worked and attended to.

neglect 4

 

 

5 comments

  1. It’s been awhile,SR. I was getting concerned about you, although it has been nearly 2 weeks since I last posted. My latest post kind of echoes a point made in yours “Resist the temptation to ask, “In what ways is my spouse neglecting our marriage.” God doesn’t ask us to account for each other. I won’t be held accountable for the actions and behaviours of my husband; only my own as a wife. (2 Cor 5:10)”

    I ended by trying to encourage either spouse to “go first” when it’s time for a change in how they achieve sexual fulfillment and to consider the possibility that their partners problems may be due to physical change as they age. I am still getting butt-kicked by Part 5 of the body image series though.

    Tonight, my wife was reading over my shoulder when I was replying to your comment on Sex Within Marriage about the beehive. I told her about how you were a Christian submissive as a wife, though not necessarily a D/s wife, and she said she recognized that in your writings. Then, wonder of wonders, she finally thanked me for my “I Screwed Up…” post. Not “finally” as in about time, just that she read it when first posted because I e-mailed it to her and she had yet to mention reading it. It felt good to know she was pleased and recognized my sincerity.

    1. No need for concern, but TY! Just busy and re-ordering our lives in Alberta. I find the more I resist the temptation to monitor Darrell’s growth as a husband, the stronger I get as a wife.

Leave a Reply

