From The Lemonade Stand – (Part 2 – The Sugar)

sugar

Last post I generously shared my lemons, and I thank you all for your support!  But now it’s time to look for that sugar, the part that really completes the lemonade.  You can find the full sour from Part 1, here.

In Part 1, I ended with, “You can’t make lemonade without the addition of some sugar.  It’s the contrasting of the sour and the sweet that really bring this drink to life.  I already shared some of the sugar that came our way through our wonderful neighbours.  But there’s more – if I will open my eyes to see it.”

The first and foremost serving of the sugar is that our family is secure and intact.  Our children are safe in Saskatchewan, and we are safe in Alberta.  We are divided by seven hours, but in the larger scheme of life, seven hours isn’t that big of a deal.  This is a huge blessing that I need to show gratitude for every day, and one that is often overlooked.  I think our initial appreciation depends on our point of reference.  If you ask someone whose family is fractured or someone who has received a less-than-favourable medical diagnosis, they’ll tell you that family and health are everything.

The cooling system in the car:  Darrell is extremely knowledgeable when it comes to anything mechanical.  He knows exactly what a vehicle needs and how to install all the parts when they arrive.  His skill saves us a small fortune in the automotive area of our budget.  The parts did come in on time and have been installed, and our car is now back to good!

Rocky and Adrienne:  Pets bring a quality to a family that is almost too precious to speak of. We see through them an unconditional love and acceptance in action instead of words.  Any effort they need from us is just not comparable.

My new laptop:  There is a computer sales and repair store just down the street from Darrell’s apartment, so I took it there to see if I could get a diagnosis.  It took about an hour and a half, but although I fully expected to pay for his time, he said, “No charge.”  Thank you Arthur from VM Systems.  Your generosity is very much appreciated!  We had purchased the laptop from Staples, and even though it was past the warranty, they agreed to swap it for a new one.

And finally, when on my extended stay, I’ve discovered a great tea shop!  This is a big deal for me because I’m a hardcore coffee drinker.  I never, in a million years, thought I could ever enjoy a pot of tea the way I enjoy coffee … but now I do.  Thanks to Everything Tea and Gifts for broadening my pallet!

As you move into the Christmas season, which can easily become marked with pressure that can tempt you to be sour and frustrated, remember to let joy sweeten your interactions with people.

Thank you for reading Upwithmarriage.  

I pray the blessing of growth in your life and marriage, that you will aggressively pursue Christ’s love to feed your heart so that you can live the life of a lover.  I pray that grace and wisdom will increase with the strength of your stride as you move forward into 2014.

Merry Christmas and Happy New Year

Darrell & Robyn

4 comments

  1. What a heartwarming end to this. As Mary Poppins would say “Just a spoonful of sugar helps the medicine go down.” 🙂
    Merry Christmas to you and your family (and can’t forget those 2 cute little dogs 🙂 ) . God Bless!!

Leave a Reply

