Self-made wife

borders3 -God will ask

I’ve been reading Leadership Freak for quite some time now and I just love it.  Now, you might be thinking, “What does a stay-at-home-mom who favours Biblical submission want with a blog on leadership for businesses?

Great question! (I’m so glad you asked)

First, Dan Rockwell is just plain funny and I find his posts entertaining and uplifting.  Second, a lot of his insights are completely transferrable to marriage by either spouse. On earth I am a surrendered wife; but I’m also a daughter of the King, which makes me a leader.  Third, since Darrell is in management, I’m always looking for anything of interest that relates to his career.

In this particular post, Dan was talking about, How to Solve the Garbage Problem in Leadership.

Although liking his entire post, this is the segment that drew my attention:

“Self-made isn’t selfish:

Develop yourself by serving others. Enhance your ability to make the world better for others and you enhance yourself as well.

Develop yourself by developing others. Leaders are more than learners, they’re teachers. Those who teach develop the most.

Giving is vitality;
hoarding is death.

Pour into your cup by pouring into others.

Generosity is the path to maximum impact.

Generous leaders give others confidence to be themselves, before they give information and advice. Those without confidence reject learning.”

 

Learning about leadership makes me a more effective wife for God:

  • Jesus was developed into the Resurrected Christ by serving us.
  • Growth comes from a servant’s heart:  Putting others first.
  • For the most profound influence in marriage:  Focus to give, not to get.
  • Jesus didn’t die so we could stockpile God’s love within ourselves.
  • I’m the only one who can give my husband the confidence to be himself.  As I pour into his life, he’ll be better equipped for Kingdom work.

I have strength for all things in Christ Who empowers me [I am ready for anything and equal to anything through Him Who infuses inner strength into me; I am self-sufficient in Christ’s sufficiency]. –Phil 4:13

 

God invites us to be self-made as He uses our marriages to shape and grow us.

5 comments

Leave a Reply

