Secrets

Photo Credit

It seems I’m a little late to this confession party, but I had such fun reading all about you guys, thank you all for sharing! …

… I want to play too!

One Flesh Marriage

 

Intimacy in Marriage

The Generous Wife

Journey to Surrender

Hot, Holy & Humorous

The Romantic Vineyard

If I’ve missed anyone, please jump in and add your name!

Here’s my 10!

1.  Sometimes it gets feisty at our house.

While at a marriage conference we learned that in most marriages there is a turtle and a woodpecker.  Darrell and I are both woodpeckers  :/

2.  And sometimes it gets even more feisty.

We had a terrible fight recently and my husband said, “Where’s this woman who writes your blog posts – I want to see HER!”  All of what I write comes from embarrassingly real experiences.  The problem is that academics are easy – it takes me a gazillion times of practical experience to really get it.

3.  Bad habits versus good habits

I’ve been an on again/off again smoker for most of my adult life.  But the thing is, I HATE to eat anything with any type of chemical or food additive and I also take vitamins, eat really healthy, and drink freshly juiced carrots and have been known to frequent local gyms, my favourite is the elliptical.  I know it sounds conflicting.

4.  I consider fiction a waste of valuable time

I’m a compulsive studier and researcher, however, it takes me REALLY LOONNGGGG to read a book because I take apart every word and phrase.  Basically, I suck the life out of a book until it has nothing left to give.

5.  Mamma’s far from perfect (and her kids know it) 

We’ve been a home schooling family for over 20 years.  I grew tired of people looking at me like I was a cross between:  Mary Poppins, June Cleaver and a dash of Mother Earth herself.  Finally, I started saying, “Don’t look at me that way, it’s not at all what you think it is.  Tell them kids, mum’s a yeller isn’t she.”

6.  Aspiring writer

I have a book waiting in the wings.  I started writing it in Ontario (where we lost our business and home, yup, whole shootin match), finished in BC (where we wanted to settle) and had the first draft edited in Saskatchewan (where God put us instead).  It chronicles my journey of being married to Darrell and how I stayed married to him as an unbeliever during those 16 years and what God taught me about myself, to eventually witness his salvation.

7.  Inspiration in odd places

My inspiration for blogging comes from odd places.  I see metaphors for marriage in almost everything from cheesecakes to leadership blogs to our pets.  My two favourite places I‘m drawing from right now are:  the movie Behind Enemy Lines – sometimes you just have to do whatever it takes to stay alive and in the battle.  And the song, Lovers in a Dangerous Time – the line that makes me cry is, “Nothing worth having comes without some kind of fight, got to kick at the darkness ‘til it bleeds daylight.”

8.  Heroins

 My favourite ladies who take care of business are:  Lieutenant Ellen Ripley, Joan of Arc, Murron MacClannough and Gail Vaz-Oxlade.

9.  My heart aches

My heart is heavy and aches for women who are in the waiting rooms of divorce surgery.  It’s painful to stay in a hurting place because, well, hurt hurts.  Despite having walked the talk, I often still feel ill-equipped to finish the job of encouraging them to stay and fight.

10.  Fear sometimes still gets in the way

I‘m not always the fittest spiritual warmonger that I present – but I want to be grown into one.

 

9 comments

  1. SR – When I start blogging, I expect my wife will also wonder who is ghost-writing my stuff. My wife was a constant smoker when we met, even got her smokes for free. I left town on a job and while I was gone she prayed to be under conviction for her smoking. She hasn’t smoked since. She just dead stopped. As you know, that was over 30 years ago. I will pray for your release. So silly of you sister. Not at all what I would have expected. But then, I have my secrets too. They lurk in the darkness but are far from hidden from the One who counts most.
    BD

      1. Whoa now. Easy there. Surprised is more how I feel. Awful is a little extreme in this case and lacks grace. It’s like when I say my wife is better than I deserve. I believe it to be true because of what I know about me, but I also know she is there by the grace of God so He feels I need (deserve) her in my life and, for some reason unknown to me, He feels she needs me. Like Paul said of marriage meaning to exemplify the relationship between Christ and the church (Eph 5:31-32), She is there by the grace of God whether I understand the mystery or not. Indeed, until I fully understand, accept and live the relationship between Christ and the church, I cannot fully become one flesh with my wife. Until then, grace is the glue that binds the marriage.

        I. do. not. feel. let. down. by. you.
        BD

        While on the subject, I like Liz Curtis Higgs’ book Embrace Grace, even though it is aimed at women. I guess I’m a closet girl at heart. 🙂

        1. You must understand BD – you think I’m offended and that’s why you are internalizing my comment as graceless. I can tell you brother, I am not.

          I know I am not silly. I pray daily for God to use and grow and change me however He sees fit. I feel conviction in a great many, many areas in my life (as evidenced by my vulnerability of this post) – but smoking’s just not one of them, not yet anyway.

        2. I was concerned you thought I was passing judgment on you in instead of empathizing. I’ll keep praying over it.

Leave a Reply

