My Focus, My Harvest

Focusing on the good takes work, lots of work. Especially when I’ve been hurt. Yet that’s what I am encouraged to do. I’m told to pay attention to the good and not the bad. When I’m hurt I naturally want to ruminate on it, sounds kind of sick doesn’t it. But this was typically where my focus would land … on my flesh. I had to consciously choose against the driving force of the wants of my flesh to advance in the spirit.

In what direction will I aim my focus? There are only two options. I can follow the advice given by God and pay no attention to a wrong suffered (1 Cor 13:5) which means that, if I’m not allowing my hurt to be the central point I must allow something else to be. You can’t not think about a hurt simply by not thinking about it, the very act causes you to think about it. I must replace the negative with a positive. So I think about believing the best in my husband. (1 Cor 13:7) This is focusing on the good and it will lead my actions to sow to the good thus bring a good result.

Second option, not so great. When I focus my energy on what has happened to me (focusing on my flesh — me) that is exactly where I lead my actions to sow, to the negative action, thereby bringing me a harvest of … negative.  The Spiritual Law of sowing & reaping is identical to any of the Natural Laws in that, it is real.  You don’t reap wheat from an apple seed.  When you are an apple farmer you don’t focus on wheat seeds, you focus on apple seeds because apples are what you want to harvest.

It is simple, just not easy.

When God tells me to focus on the good and not the bad, I don’t think He wants me to labotamize my mind or heart. It is both necessary and balanced to acknowledge my hurt, first to myself and then to Him … as I deposit it into His hands. He is far better equipped to handle it, and if I continue to hold it in my focus, God‘s Word will be proved out:  as a man thinks focuses, so he will be.  My actions will follow my thoughts and the law of sowing and reaping states that you reap in likeness of what you sow.

Focus on the negative = harvest of negative

Focus on the positive = harvest of positive

This is why God tells us to not keep a focus the hurt and sin done to us, because it entangles and ensnares (Heb 12:1).  I am given a simple and clear way to protect myself against it … cast it aside.

I give it all to You, all the sin I do, and all the sin done to me.

8 comments

    1. As usual, my friend, you cause me to dig deep!

      I believe the law of attraction is the metaphysical spin on Romans 4:17, “As it is written, I have made you the father of many nations. [He was appointed our father] in the sight of God in Whom he believed, Who gives life to the dead and SPEAKS OF THE NONEXISTENT THINGS THAT [He has foretold and promised] AS IF THEY [already] EXISTED.” (Amplifed, uppercase added)

      Generally speaking, you can see the dim reflection of the law of attraction from the law of sowing and reaping because the law of attraction is based on sowing and reaping … minus the God factor.

      Truth is truth. We can see this in the law of giving (the tithe). The law of the tithe (giving off of the top of your earnings) was set in place when God created the world, as were all spiritual and natural laws and just like the natural law of gravity, these laws encompass everyone. You don’t have to be a believer to activate them in your life. But you do have to be a believer to give God the glory for them. The motive of my heart is at the root of how I move in these laws. For myself or for Him.

Leave a Reply

